Share |

Home  Marriage, Parenting, Celibacy   Building a House of Grace for Growth             

Building a House of Grace for Growth

蔣吳蘊蘭 By Winnis Chiang

An Unexpected Visit

One Friday afternoon few weeks ago, the phone rang. "Hi Mom. What are you doing?" "Just got home from work. I'm fixing dinner. How about you?" "I took a friend to the airport, can I come by to eat with you?"

I glanced at the clock, 5:45. "Of course. But Dad and I have to leave at 7:30 to set up for fellowship. How's the traffic on 880? Drive carefully." What I didn't say is that (just a moment ago) I was tired and wanted to eat a simple meal before catching a nap. Energized by his visit, four main dishes and one pot of soup were on the table within 45 minutes. My husband winked at me, "My compliments to the chef."

"You're welcome." I smiled and thought about our days as newly weds when I was determined to be an excellent wife. That summer, I fixed breakfast, lunch and dinner for him every day. After a few weeks, I asked after dinner, "How do you like my cooking?" Long pause. "Good. Just one thing, could we have a little more variety?" My heart sank and told myself, "I'm not good in cooking. Why bother?"

Maybe my responses were a bit too extreme, but let me explain.

Often times, our energy ebb and flow like tides because of something inside us. In the above examples, I was motivated to cook for the pleasure of enjoying a good meal with my family, but I wanted to avoid cooking when it triggered pain and the feeling of inadequacy. Most people, especially children, need encouraging words, glances, and smiles to do things that we don't naturally enjoy, that do not come easily, or need a lot of practice.

Disconnecting Habits

In his book Unhappy Teenagers: A way for Parents and Teachers to Reach Them, author William Glasser, M.D. wrote about seven disconnecting habits. We get into such habits as criticizing, blaming, complaining, nagging, threatening, punishing, and rewarding to control others.

However, such external control never really works unless the other person is also motivated by survival, love and belong, power, freedom and fun. Our children may be afraid of harsh punishments when they are small. As they grow taller, bigger and stronger, we will find that eternal control only leads to power struggles – "You can't make me!" Instead of destroying the intimacy we deeply desire.

Dr. Glasser suggested replacing these deadly habits with seven connecting habits. Think back to your own growing years, would you rather have caring, trusting, listening, supporting, negotiating, befriending, and encouraging words and actions from your parents?

The Core of Depression

Many mental health issues are symptoms of broken relationships with self, others and/or God. When we feel something is missing (e.g. lack of affirmation being yelled at), we try to find a quick fix to get out of our pain. We turn to food, friends, games, Internet, drug, alcohol, sex, gambling, and even work to feel good, to get high.

Unfortunately, these things can easily take over our lives and become an even bigger problem. When we realize we can never solve our problems, we become helpless and hopeless. That's the core of depression!

Dr. Norman Vincent Peale, co-founder of Guideposts magazine, wrote, "Any fact facing us is not as important as our attitude toward it, for that determines our successes or failure … Change your thoughts, and you change the world."

We cannot change other people and the outside world, but we can always change the way we respond to something when it happens. When I realized mere career successes were not enough, I turned to God for help and He changed my life and my family.

How to Help Children Develop Self-Awareness and Self-Management

Self-awareness and self-management are intra-personal skills that can be developed within each of us. It is important to teach our children to think and feel and to make wise choices based on Biblical principles but it is even more important to model Christ-likeness in our own lives.

The power of modeling comes when we practice what we preach. Our kids already know we are not perfect. Sometimes, we just have to show them how we repent and seek forgiveness. As we exhibit the fruit of the Spirit which is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (Galatians 5:22-23) when difficult and challenging things happen to us or around us, our kids will learn, sooner or later.

We cannot isolate our children from bad things in this world. Nevertheless, we can influence them through love, encouragement, support, and good modeling.

Are you consumed by a particular problem to the extent that you can no longer enjoy or love your child or teenager? Stop. Think. Are their offenses a way of getting your attention, power struggle, or revenge? Beating up your child will not stop him from fighting in school. Yelling a lot only hurt your family. "What goes into a man's mouth does not make him unclean, but what comes out of his mouth, that is what makes him unclean"(Matthew 15:11).

There is a saying, "Sow a thought, reap an action; sow an action, reap a habit; sow a habit, reap a character; sow a character, reap a destiny." We mold our children's future with implicit or explicit expectations. When these expectations are not met, we blame and attack in anger, or withdraw in hurtful disappointment. When we hide our true feeling, we isolate ourselves from each other and create a chasm between us.

Expectations and Family Interactions

Are your expectations realistic? Do you recognize and build on your kids' natural talents and learning styles?

Don't get me wrong, we can always express our desires but we still need to respect them as unique individuals created and loved by God. Most OBC parents reading this newsletter are high achievers with academic and professional accomplishments. Do you expect certain areas of study for your kids in particular colleges? What if he likes playing basketball? What if she prefers drawing? Don't label them stupid or lazy or you will be fulfilling your own prophecy.

Okay, there are kids who are really out-of-control. Often times, the person is controlled and tormented from within by pent-up anger, hurt and resentment. Next time, when they say, "I don't want to do it. I won't do it. You cannot make me do it." Do not involve in a power struggle but try something new: "I have a problem with what you're doing and I think I have to change what I do or we'll never solve the problem." You will be surprised how you can enjoy each other when you don't try to control them!

Family meals are there to be enjoyed. No doubt many moms (or dads) work very hard outside and feel exhausted cooking dinner. I know many of them (me included) would start yelling if nobody comes to the table immediately. Raising our voices would only increase tension. Many years ago, I started to ring a bell to signal dinner and wait. They usually show up within 5 minutes. This simple practice has saved me heartaches ("They are taking me for granted") and arguments. Try it yourself!

On the night of a surprise visit, we had a great conversation at the table. Afterwards, Dad said, "Thanks for dinner. I need to go … Will you give Mom a ride to church?" and I heard, "Sure Dad. Thanks for dinner Mom. Let me do the dishes." As I took a shower, I felt so blessed as I reflected the road we have traveled. You see, I used to criticize my husband and son for not washing dishes or even loading them into the dishwasher my way. It took me a while to figure out why nobody volunteered to help me. Now I just graciously receive whatever help I get, and most often than not, they do things voluntarily without me asking.

I know what is right for me may not be right for everybody. So, I have to admit that I really don't know what is right for you. Nevertheless, I hope this article help you rethink interactions in your family. I pray that each of your families will grow for the better! Happy Mother's Day!!!

 

Related Readings:

Bookmark and Share
主頁  婚姻、養育、單身  建造一個促進成長的恩典之家  

建造一個促進長的恩典之家


蔣吳蘊蘭 作者: 蔣吳蘊蘭

臨時造訪

幾個星期前的一個星期五下午,電話鈴響了。「嗨,媽媽。你在幹什麼?」
「剛下班回家,正在準備晚餐。你呢?」

「我剛送完一個朋友去機場,可以過來吃飯嗎?」

我趕快看一下時間,已經是5點45分了。「當然可以。但爸爸和我七點半要去教會預備晚上的團契。880高速公路的交通怎樣?小心開車啊!」其實,我本來很累,只想簡單吃一頓,先睡一覺才去教會。

想不到,受到兒子臨時造訪的鼓舞,我竟然在45分鐘內就做好了晚飯。看到擺在桌上的四菜一湯,丈夫向我擠擠眼說:「容我向大廚師致敬。」

我微笑著回應:「不用客氣。」卻不由自主地想到新婚時的日子。當初我決心要成為一個優秀的妻子,那年夏天,每天為丈夫準備早、午、晚餐。幾週後的一個晚上,鼓起勇氣問:「喜歡我做的菜嗎?」

他的靜默讓我吃驚。等了好半晌他終於開口:「好……吃。但可否多換些口味?」

我的心一沉,告訴自己:「飯做不好,何苦呢?」

也許我的反應有點過於偏激,但讓我解釋一下。

很多時候,內心所存的東西會影響我們對事情的反應,精力也會像浪潮一樣起落。正如上面兩個例子,與家人同享美餐的樂趣激勵我下廚,但自覺沒用的痛苦讓我避免烹飪。大多數人,尤其是兒童,都需要話語、眼神和微笑來鼓勵我們作那些我們不太享受,或來之不易,或需要操練的事情。

使人關係疏遠的習慣

在《不快樂的青少年:家長和教師如何打進他們內心的妙法》一書中,作家威廉、格拉瑟博士列舉七個使人關係疏遠的習慣,就是批評、指責、抱怨、嘮叨、威脅、懲罰和酬報。這樣的習慣,目的是要控制他人。

然而,除非對方為了生存、愛、歸屬、權力、自由和樂趣而自動自發,這種外加的控制很難真正達成任務。孩子小時候可能會害怕嚴厲的懲罰,但當他們長高長大、日漸強壯時,外加的控制只能導致權力之爭,刺激孩子說:「你不能逼我作什麼!」從而破壞我們極深切渴望的親密關係。

格拉瑟博士建議把這些致命的習慣改成七個使人關係親密的習慣,就是關心、信任、傾聽、支持、談判、結交和鼓勵。回想自己的成長歲月,你是否渴望從父母身上得到這類的話語和行動?

抑鬱症的核心

許多精神健康問題基本上是人與自我、他人或上帝關係破裂的症狀。當我們覺得缺少某些東西(例如被罵而沒有肯定),通常試圖找辦法快速解決問題和擺脫痛苦。我們利用食物、朋友、遊戲、上網、藥物、酒精、色情、賭博,甚至工作來提升情緒,讓自己感覺好些。

不幸的是,這些東西很容易劫持我們的生活,成為一個更大的問題。當我們意識到自己不能解決問題的時候,就變得無助和絕望,這就是抑鬱症的核心!

《指路牌》雜誌創始人之一皮爾博士寫道:「我們面臨的任何事實,遠遠不及我們對這事的態度來的重要,因為態度決定我們的成功或失敗…改變思想,就可以改變世界。」

我們不能改變別人和外面的世界。但事情發生時,總可以改變自己的反應。我意識到職業成功是不夠的,就轉身向上帝求救,而祂就改變了我的生活,進而影響了家人。

幫助孩子發展自我意識和管理

「自我意識」和「自我管理」等內在的技能,是每個人都可以發展的。為人父母﹐固然要教導孩子去思考和感受,並根據聖經的原則作出明智的選擇,但更重要的,是在日常生活中活出基督的榜樣。

言教不如身教,榜樣是大有功效的,所以我們要活出所傳講的。既然孩子早已知道我們不完美,有時候,只需要向他們展示我們如何悔改並尋求寬恕。在面對困難和挑戰時,個性上彰顯出聖靈所結的果子,就是仁愛、喜樂、和平、忍耐、恩慈、良善、信實、溫柔、節制(加拉太書5:22-23),這樣,孩子遲早會學到功課的。

我們不能把孩子從世界上的敗壞隔離出來,不過我們可以通過愛、鼓勵、支持和良好的榜樣來影響他們。

你是否被某些問題困擾,以至不再享受或愛你的孩子或青少年?停下來,想一想。他們是否以調皮搗蛋、行為不檢的方式來得到你的關注、或在進行權力鬥爭、甚或在向你報復?打孩子抑制不了他在學校與人打架,大喊大叫只會傷害你的家人。聖經說﹕「入口的不能污穢人,出口的乃能污穢人。」(馬太15:11)

諺語說:「播下一種思想,收穫一個行動。播下一個行動,收穫一種習慣。播下一種習慣,收穫一種性格。播下一種性格,收穫一種命運。」我們用含蓄或明確的期望塑造孩子們的未來,但當這些期望得不到滿足時,我們或在憤怒中指責和攻擊,或在傷害失望中撤退,或隱藏實在的感覺,結果都是把自己孤立起來,建立鴻溝。

期望與家庭互動

你的期望現實嗎?你有沒有意識到並按照孩子的天賦和學習風格來造就他們?

不要誤會,我們當然可以對孩子表達我們的期望,但仍需要尊重他們及欣賞他們的獨特性,因為他們是神所創造的,也是神所愛的。大多數閱讀本文的OBC父母擁有卓越學位或專業成就,請問你有沒有期望孩子進入重點大學主修某些領域?如果他喜歡打籃球或畫畫,你有何反應?希望你不要貼標籤,不要說他們愚蠢或懶惰,以免成為自我實現的預言。

在你的孩子情緒失控的時候,不要忘記他可能正被里面壓抑的憤怒、傷害或怨恨所折磨。下一次,當他說:「我並不想這樣做。我不會去做。你不能逼我去做。」請你不要陷入權力鬥爭,倒要試試看這樣的回應:「我不能接受你在做什麼,這是我的問題。我想我需要改變,否則將永遠不能解決問題。」你會驚奇地發現,當你不試圖控制他,你們就可以開始彼此欣賞!

與家人一起吃飯是享受。毫無疑問,許多媽媽(或爸爸)一天工作辛苦完畢,做飯難免感覺疲憊。我知道很多人(包括當年的我)如果煮好飯沒有人立即來吃,就會開始急促地喊叫。但提高聲音,只會增加緊張。多年前,我開始搖鈴發出「吃飯啦。」的信號,然後坐下來等待,通常父子兩人都會在5分鐘內出現。這個簡單的做法,免除自憐「被他們視我理所當然」的想法,減少很多不必要的爭論。試試看吧!

兒子突然造訪那個晚上,餐桌上有極豐富的分享。飯後丈夫說:「謝謝你的晚餐。我要你去教會了... (兒子)可否送媽媽一程?」

兒子說:「爸爸,當然啦。媽媽,謝謝你的晚餐,讓我來洗碗。」

我趕緊洗了個澡,我感到很蒙福,也趁機思考我們走過的道路。從前我常常埋怨丈夫和兒子不洗碗,或不懂怎樣把盤碗放進洗碗機里,基本上是批評別人不按我的時間或方法作事。花了很長一段時間才能弄清楚為什麼沒有人主動幫助我,現在欣然地接受幫助,不用說,他們就自動自發。

我知道適用於我的不一定適用於每一個人。我必須承認,我並不知道什麼是適用於你的。不過,希望這篇文章幫助你重新思考你家庭里的互動,願你的家庭有美好的成長!

*本文英文版最初刊登於5/13/06蔣吳蘊蘭的《Parenting ABC》通訊: http://parentingabcnewsletterinenglish.blogspot.com

 

相關閱讀:

 

主頁  婚姻、養育、單身 建造一個促進成長的恩典之家